23.7 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

State Education Commission set in motion, Prof. SM Sungoh as Chairperson


Shillong, Aug 03: The State Education Commission at MBoSE office in Shillong was inaugurated by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma on Thursday.

Speaking to reporters after the inauguration ceremony, Sangma said many challengers arise but one has to see into overall structuring and reformation of the education sector as a whole. He added that with the setting up of this commission it can do justice to the education sector in the state.

With the coming up of the State Education Commission, Sangma said better days are coming and see changes in the education sector.

Meghalaya government recently notified the members of the State Education Commission with Prof. SM Sungoh, Department of Education, North Eastern Hill University (NEHU) as its Chairperson.

Prof David Reid Syiemlieh (Adviser, Academic), Former Chairman UPSC, Government of India and Tony TC Marak (Adviser, School Sector Reforms), Retd IFS and former Executive Chairman MBOSE, Government of Meghalaya are Advisers of the Commission and Ambrose Ch Marak, Secretary in-charge Education Department, as Member Secretary.

The commission also has 12 co-opted members. They are: Dr. (Mrs) C A R Diengdoh, Retd CDC NEHU, Shillong, Dr. (Mrs) Vanessa Kharmawphlang, Retd Principal, CTE (PGT) Shillong, Dr. (Mrs) Nikme Salse Ch. Momin, Professor NEHU, Tura Campus, Shri. P Ryngksai, Retd. Addl. Director of School Education & Literacy, Shillong, Dr. Charles Reuben Lyngdoh, Associate Professor, Synod College, Shillong, Dr. Sanggra A Sangma, Associate Professor, Department of History, Don Bosco College, Tura, Shri. Rahul Chatterjee, Assistant Lecturer (Physics), Jail Road Boys’ Higher Secondary School, Shillong, Brother Solomon T Morris, Principal, St. Edmunds School, Catholic Christian Brother Institution, Shillong, Shri. Richard Uriah, Principal North Liberty Hr. Sec. School, Jowai, Shri. F C Shullai, Retd Primary School Teacher, Polo Hills, Shillong, Shri Aaron Warjri, Principal Shillong Public School, Shillong and Dr. (Fr) Philip Abraham S.J., Principal Loyola College & Loyola HSS, East Garo Hills, Williamnagar.

The term of the commission is for two years.

Terms of reference
1. Advise the Govt. of Meghalaya on matters related to the school and college system, salary and school structure, school management functioning and accountability
2. Recommend concrete solutions and strategic interventions and policy decisions for ushering reforms in the school & higher education system from the perspective of NEP 2020 and fulfilling its various principles and articulation.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img