26.6 C
Sunday, April 21, 2024

VPP announces Ardent’s name and 13 other candidates for the 2023 Election


Shillong, December 12: The Voice of the People Party announced the first phase of its candidates list, including former MLA of Nongkrem who the President of the party is also, Ardent M.Basaiawmoit along with 13 other candidates.

The candidates who will be contesting the upcoming Assembly Election in 2023 include Damewanhi L.Rymbai from Khliehriat, Dr.Ricky A.J Symkhong from Umsning, Heavingstone Kharpran from Mawryngkneng, Brightstarwell Marbaniang from Mawlai, Avner Pariat from East Shillong, Raja Jyrwa from West Shillong, Danny Langstieh from South Shillong, Aibandaplin F.Lyngdoh from Mylliem, Winston Tony Lyngdoh from Nongthymmai, Ardent M.Basaiawmoit from Nongkrem, Dorisstar Marbaniang from Mawphlang, Manbhalang Thabah from Pynursla, Shanlang Warjri from Mairang and Overlin Imïong from Ranikor.

Kara Chen who is the Chairman of the State Election Committee of the VPP said that this list is only the first list, and the second list will be announced at a later date. On being queried he said that till date only one MLA has been in talks with the VPP, Adelbert Nongrum who will be contesting from North Shillong.

On being queried if the party intends to be in a coalition after the election, the spokesperson of the VPP, Prof.Batskhem Myrboh said that as the party has been vocal about the present Government being corrupted, it is necessary to allow other parties who have not been in the Government to govern, however, he added that it depends on the wisdom of the people to choose. He said that if they can form a Government with any party also, the VPP will put at the forefront the objective of the party, and if it is required to be in a coalition Government, it will be based on principles and not for the position of Ministers.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img