21 C
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Meghalaya celebrates 61st Teachers’ Day


Shillong, September 5, 2022: 5th September is celebrated as Teachers’ Day as a tribute to
the contribution made by teachers to society. The day also commemorates the Birth
Anniversary of Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, the former President of India and above all, a
Meghalaya also joined hands with the rest of India to celebrate the 61 st Teacher’s Day
today, the 5 th September, 2022 with great fervour and exuberance. The Education
Department, Government of Meghalaya, celebrated the day at U Soso Tham Auditorium,
Shillong in the august presence of the Minister i/c Education, Government of Meghalaya,
Shri. Lahkmen Rymbui as the Chief Guest.
While lauding the dedication of the teaching community of the State particularly during the
outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, where teachers played tremendous role in reaching out
to the students through technology, the Minister said that it was not easy for teachers to
transform formal classroom teaching to online teaching, yet with their hard work they were
able to overcome all these hardships in providing the best services to the students.
Acknowledging that teachers face numerous other challenges such as pay disparity and
untimely disbursement of salary, the Minister reiterated the government’s commitment and
continuous efforts in addressing these issues.
He also stressed on the need for teachers to come up with various innovative methods for
holistic development of the students.
The Minister also congratulated Smti. Gamchi Timre R Marak, Head Teacher Educere
Higher Secondary School, Williamnagar for being conferred the National Teacher Award
Meghalaya Government honours 13 mentors on Teachers’ Day in recognition of their
contributions to the dedicated services.
State Awards
1. Smti Lasubon Shullai, Assistant Teacher, Laittyra UP School, Laittyra
2. Shri. Dibiland Iawphniaw, Headmaster, Malaisohmat UP School, Phlangwanbroi
3. Smti. Sidamon Kurbah, Headmistress, Wahrit Govt. UP School
4. Smti. Bioles Lyngdoh, Assistant Teacher, Mawthawpdah (Def) UP School Mawthawpdah
5. Shri. Dipak Kumar Saha, Assistant Teacher, Govt. Boys’ Higher Secondary School, Jowai
6. Shri. Arun Kumar, Principal, Seinjait Tuber HS School, Tuber Kmaishnong
7. Shri. T P Tmung, Principal Umroi Presbyterian HS School, Umroi
8. Shri. Jeremias Kharbani, Headmaster, Mangsang Secondary School, East Garo Hills

9. Shri. Dominic Marak, Assistant Teacher, Don Bosco HS School, Mendal
10. Shri. Jairaj Chetry, Headmaster, Gorkha Deficit UP School, Tura
11. Smti. Hezillina T Sangma, Head Teacher, Akkonggre Govt. LP School
12. Smti. Dewbarlinda B Sangma, Headmistress, Ampati Deficit UP School
13. Shri. Lindstorm K Marak, Headmaster, Rugapara Deficit Secondary School

Besides the State Teachers’ Award, District Award was also conferred on 33 teachers from
across the State. From East Khasi Hills, the District Award was presented to Smti. V Dipali
Sharma Rao, Principal, Laban Assamese Girls’ HS School, Laban, for the Secondary Section
Smti. Philosimai Syiem, Assistant Teacher, Nongkrem Govt. UP School, Nongkrem for the
Upper Primary Section and Smti. Belinda Kharsati, Head Teacher, Pomlahier LP School for
the Lower Primary Section.
Special Award (Inclusive School) was conferred upon Smti. Josephine Lyngdoh, Special
Educator, Mary Rice Centre for Special Education, Laitumkhrah, Shillong. Shri.
Habandamon Rani of Seng Khasi HS School, Shillong and Smti. Deigracia A Shylla of Holy
Child HS School, Shillong received the Scoutmaster and Guide awards respectively.


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img