25 C
Tuesday, May 21, 2024



Jowai: The cricket tournament known as the Open to All T20 Tournament 2022, organised by the West Jaiñtia Cricket League came to an end on the 8th of March, 2022 with Moodymmai emerging victorious after defeating HUCC by 18 runs.

In this tournament 8 different teams participated. The tournament was declared to have ended by the Deputy Commissioner of West Jaiñtia Hills District, Garod LSN Dykes in the presence also of Gideon Kharkongor, Honorary Secretary of the Meghalaya Cricket Association who was also the Guest of Honour.

Turning to the match,the coin toss was won by HUCC who chose to bowl first, in which Moodymmai made 207 runs with the batsmen earning the most runs for Moodymmai being Bishar Lamare with 57 runs of 40 balls and Himonlang Lyngdoh with 50 runs of 19 balls.

The bowlers of HUCC claiming many wickets included Y.Patwet with 2 wickets in 3 overs followed by S.Patwet and E.Phawa who each claimed 2 wickets in 4 overs.

In chasing the target, the HUCC failed to catch up as they could not even make 189 runs at the end of all the 20 overs.

The reason which led to the failure of HUCC in reaching the target can be owed to the bowler of Moodymmai, Bishar Lamare alone who claimed upto 5 wickets single-handedly in 4 overs,which set the basis of a strong play for the winning team of this match by 18 runs, making it perfect for him to also win the title of the Man of the Match.

At the end of the match, title prizes were distributed for the title of Man of the Tournament which was won by Yoohimiootre Pawet of the HUCC team who made up to 194 runs and claimed 10 wickets, while the title of the Highest Wicket taker was won by Bishar Lamare of the Moodymmai team who claimed up to 12 wickets in 5 matches of the tournament, and the title of Highest Scorer was won by Chantre-i-man Lamare of the Amity team who made 266 runs in 4 matches of the tournament. The title of Youngest Player went to E.Siangshai of the Rising Star team and the title of Most Promising Player went to Maremdor Sutnga of the Chutwakhu team.

The title prizes were distributed by the Chief Guest, the DC, Honorary Secretary of the Meghalaya Cricket Association, G.Kharkongor, Sunday Tariang, Alan Ñiangti, President of the Synjuk Rangbah Shnong, Naba Bhattacharjee, Chairman of Northeast Cricket and others.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img